The Tally Ho Inn first began life in the early 1900s as one of a number of guest cottages constructed by the Pine Inn on adjacent property to meet increasing demand for overnight accommodations.
Amenities included a putting green, nearby horse stables, and tennis courts. Cottages were equipped with heat, hot water, and telephones as well as complete hotel service provided by the Pine Inn.
In 1945, Jimmy Hatlo, a New York cartoonist known for creating They’ll Do It Every Time, and Little Iodine, and his wife purchased the Tally Ho Inn and the tennis courts. That year, he hired Hugh Comstock, a Carmel builder known for his “fairy-tale” architecture, to remodel the cottage into a mansion.
Comstock added several rooms, a patio and deck, and personally carved a distinctive newel post at the foot of the stairway fronting on Monte Verde Street. The interior “bleached” walls, have been preserved in the lobby, and the adobe-faced exterior were Comstock’s trademarks.
The quaint little fireplace in the English garden was built by the Hatlos’ gardener for evening bonfires and is now the rustic center piece to our beautiful little English garden.
Because the Comstock remodeling took place during World War II, necessary building supplies were almost impossible to find. Because of this frustration, the Hatlos’ named their completed home “Wit’s End.”
Around 1952, the Hatlo home was converted into an Inn by actor Joel McCrea’s brother, Tom McCrea. The Tally Ho has been handed down by a number of different owners through the years with each owner carefully preserving its unique character and architecture.
The most recent owner, Richard Gunner, purchased the hotel in 1993. He has completed a series of major upgrades to modernize the hotel while at the same time preserving the wonderful and unique English countryside ambiance and architecture of the Tally Ho Inn.